February 2019 Wrap Up

At the end of January I was in such a slump, I hadn’t finished any books in the last two and a bit weeks! I was three books behind on my reading challenge. Now I am thankfully right back on track!

Audiobooks were my saviours at the start of the month. I managed to cross three books off my TBR and catch back up on my reading challenge. Eventually, I read ten books in the month, which is a pretty successful month for me.

Heartburn by Nora Ephron

My first read, Heartburn, was actually on 31st January, but I didn’t get around to putting it in my wrap up so it’s just going to have to go in here. This was a tiny book and I thought I’d love it but I didn’t really get into it. I’m glad I got the audio from the library since it pushed my through when I wasn’t really feeling it. 1/5

A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

This was my book clubs read for January and I went in with pretty low expectations. Again, I didn’t love this. I just didn’t really get into the plot, however I loved the characters sass and attitudes. As I mentioned, I also listened to this on audio and I always disengage a bit with audio so I think that lead to me not loving it as much. 3/5

The Colour of Bee Larkham’s Murder by Sarah J. Harris

I picked this up for a buddy read with Beth that utterly failed. We tried to start, but I think both of us were pretty slumpy and didn’t make it far in at all. Eventually I got the audiobook from my library and just decided to sit down and finish it. Honestly, it just wasn’t for me. I think people might love the writing style, but it wasn’t for me and I felt like I forced myself to finish it. 1/5

Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

I started out my physical reading this month by picking up Beautiful Bastard when it was 99p on Kindle. I just needed something quick, easy and fun and this delivered exactly that. It didn’t provide anything new but it was a good time! 3/5

Solitaire by Alice Oseman

I have posted a full review for this that you can find here, but it is safe to say that I enjoyed my first Alice Oseman book! I really connected with the protagonist and I feel like many people would. Definitely one worth picking up if you are interested! 4/5

Then ContemporaryAThon rolled around and I read 5 books in a week, whilst working full time and getting enough sleep. Go me!  I have posted a separate wrap up for those books that you can see here. I don’t want to duplicate that and waste anyone’s time who’s already read about my views on these books so please check that out!

Of course it has been a week and a half since ContemporaryAThon and I haven’t finished a single book since then… Well done me… I have been reading, I’m just trying to finish Outlander and it’s huge and slow. Look out for that one next month!

14 thoughts on “February 2019 Wrap Up

Leave a comment