April Read It or Leave It Challenge

In April, a book club I am part of set a read it or leave it challenge. In order to take part, I had to roll a dice three time in order to determine the number of books on my TBR. If the total was over 15, then you could roll again for a lower number. I rolled a five, a three and a two, which made my total ten books. I then had to choose the ten books to read and any I don’t read in April, I have to unhaul the unread books.

These are the ten books I chose and I have been quite tactical about this as I have been in a bit of a slump. So, I chose two I would be happy to unhaul and these are A Gathering Light by Jennifer Donnelly which I was given by my brothers ex way over 5 years ago and I haven’t touched so if I don’t read it now, I never will.

I also chose Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling because I have tried to read it a number of times and never got in to it. I also know that nonfiction is not my thing really so finally letting go of it would add a space on my shelves.

Then I picked Credence by Penelope Douglas and The Recovery of Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel as I am going to be buddy reading them. I think that will give me a push, plus, I am really excited for them both.

In terms of quick reads, I picked Royals (also known as Prince Charming) by Rachel Hawkins and This Modern Love by Will Derbyshire. I will be taking part in a 24 hour readathon and I hope I can fly through these both then.

My other tactic is I have picked Blood Orange and Hunting Party as I have audiobooks of them both. If I was doing my regular job, I spend a lot of time driving, however with everything going on that’s not the case right now. But I still have a 20 min drive to and from work so I can squeeze them in there & when making dinner.

Finally, I chose Regretting You by Colleen Hoover and The Day We Meet Again by Miranda Dickinson as I have ebooks of them both. I know I have mainly been reading ebooks recently as I can read them laying in bed before falling asleep and I get drawn in.

So keep your fingers crossed for me that I have planned this well and will get to everything I want to get to. I have a few more books I’d like to read if I can squeeze them in and I have a week of leave for my birthday so I like my odds!

Leave a comment